Mad March’s Poem

Unfortunately, I didn’t create a new work for March. I did manage to finish February’s piece, though!

Colored pencil and watercolor

I’m pleased with this one, which is a good thing, since it took so long to complete! I have had the idea for this drawing for quite some time. I wanted to take something that is considered ugly by beauty and body image standards and make it look beautiful. Mission accomplished!

Since this took me so long to complete with my nasty nerve damage getting in my way, I just couldn’t force another piece. I have some ideas, but I don’t want to rush them.

I did, however, write another poem, shared below.

Feet of Clay

I.
How do you run so fast
on those feet of clay
But you don't have the speed
for walking away
From one who presses you
into a shell
And keeps you caged in your
comfortable Hell?
You tell us you hate him
but ask him to stay
In your chaos-filled world
just hidden away.
We all rush to save you -
our helpless Princess -
But you sit there and smile
and bathe in your mess
Only collecting fans
who do things for you
And taking and bleeding
until you are through.
You claim that you suffer,
that life isn't fair,
With feet of clay rooted
deep in despair.

II.
Such a wonderful guy -
a liar! A cheater!
And don't forget - he's a drunk!
But he knows how to post
shit on Facebook so he
looks like the dreamiest hunk!
According to him, he's
the world's greatest father,
the best one ever to live!
But without all your likes
and Facebook comments, his
ego will never survive!
"Pics or it didn't happen!"
will be what is inscribed
on the tombstone by his grave,
Because when asked to choose
between life and liquor
it was booze he chose to save.

III.
Chronic rejection
creates acidic armor,
loneliness
worn with fervor.
Forging a face
but still hiding,
making my presence unknown,
keeping the pride in.

IV.
Demoted
B-list friend
Uninvited
No - pity invite
Lonely loser
FOMO freak
Good ol' trusty standby
Here to pick you up
Jealous irritation
Friends are forever
if it's convenient for you

Leave a comment